2018 Top Ten Awards
Share |

2018 Top Ten Clinical Research Achievement Awards

April 18, 2018 - 5:00pm to 8:00pm

National Press Club
529 14th Street NW
Washington, DC 20045

The Clinical Research Forum is proud to announce the 2018 Top Ten Clinical Research Achievement Awards. See the video

The three studies that received special recognition and cash prizes are:

Herbert Pardes Clinical Research Excellence Award

  • Gene Therapy Halts Progression of Cerebral ALD, represented by Dr. Florian Eichler, Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Eichler and his team have developed the first successful gene therapy treatment for cerebral adrenoleukodystrophy (ALD), a fatal brain disease that most severely affects boys and men. 

This award includes a $7,500 cash prize. 

Distinguished Clinical Research Achievement Award Winner

  • Single-Dose Gene-Replacement Therapy for Spinal Muscular Atrophy, represented by Dr. Jerry Mendell, Nationwide Children's Hospital and The Ohio State University.  Dr. Mendell and his team have developed the first gene-replacement therapy for infants with spinal muscular atrophy, a devastating neurological disorder. 

Both awardees will receive a cash prize of $5,000. 

In addition, all of the Top Ten Clinical Research Awardees were recognized. The remaining Top Ten are:

  • Anti-Zika Virus DNA Vaccine, represented by Dr. Pablo Tebas, University of Pennsylvania for the first human trial of an anti-Zika virus DNA vaccine.
  • The Human Knockout Project, represented by Dr. Danish Saleheen, University of Pennsylvania. This unique study is looking at loss-of-function genetic mutations and how that can transform medicine development studies.