News & Press: Advocacy News

CCTS Newsletter | February 1, 2019

Friday, February 1, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Andres Bachelet
Share |


CCTS Newsletter Copy

Dale Dirks and Dane Christiansen

February 1, 2019


Following a protracted shutdown, Congress and the administration managed to re-open the government with a short term Continuing Resolution (CR) for the programs funded under the seven (still) unfinished appropriations bills. In exchange for a brief reprieve that allowed affected federal workers to receive their paychecks, Democratic and Republican leaders are currently working to craft a final funding deal that will address thorny border security/border wall issues. If congressional negotiators and the White House fail to reach an agreement by the mid-February deadline (when the current CR expires), it is possible the un-funded agencies of the federal government could shut down again.


The government shutdown has delayed the State of the Union address and the release of the President’s Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 Budget Request to Congress (which is expected to treat medical research and public health programs harshly again this year). Despite the disruption of these ceremonially process activities, Congress is gearing up to diligently advance the FY 2020 appropriations process and its 2019 legislative agenda. Notably this year, there are well over 100 new Members of Congress and new members of key healthcare committees. This is a large cohort of legislators that may be unfamiliar with the value and importance of clinical and translational research and research training and career development activities. It is of paramount importance for constituents representing the community to reach out to their legislators at this time (particularly new members), establish a local connection, educate them about the community, and ask for their timely support on key issues like increasing federal funding. A list of new members of key committees is included below (and every member of Congress can make a difference for us).


The best upcoming opportunity to engage these offices and receive advocacy training to support your outreach is through the community’s Capitol Hill Advocacy Day that will take place as part of TS 2019 [include registration information] 


House Appropriations Committee

Cong. Cheri Bustos (D-IL-17)

Cong. Ed Case (D-HI-1)

Cong. Charlie Crist (D-FL-13)

Cong. Lois Frankel (D-FL-21)

Cong. Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ-2)

Cong. Brenda Lawrence (D-MI-14)

Cong. Norma Torres (D-CA-35)

Cong. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ-12)

Cong. Will Hurd (R-TX-23)



House Energy & Commerce Committee

Cong. Nanette Barragan (D-CA-44)

Cong. Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE-AL)

Cong. Robin Kelly (D-IL-2)

Cong. Ann Kuster (D-NH-2)

Cong. Donald McEachin (D-VA-4)

Cong. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ-1)

Cong. Darren Soto (D-FL-9)

Cong. Marc Veasey (D-TX-33)


Senate Appropriations Committee

Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS)


Senate HELP Committee

Sen. Mitt Romney (R-UT)

Sen. Mike Braun (R-IN)

Sen. Tina Smith (D-MN)

Sen, Doug Jones (D-AL)

Sen. Jacky Rosen (D-NV)